What for dinner? Gluten-free Lemon Mushroom Cream Risotto.. you know, the ushe.

photo.JPG

That would be the finished product of something completely unplanned. You want to talk about fluke? Oh baby, I fluked it. There were times where I didn’t know where this was going, what IT even was, or if I was going to get through it. Do you understand what I’m saying? The food angels saved us (by us I mean the risotto and myself).

Anyways, I’m currently obsessed with risotto. I first got the idea from Martha Stewart’s Meatless cookbook that I love the crap out of. I baked her Butternut Squash Risotto (see below) and it turned out so good (if I may say so myself… aww eff it, it was so good i kicked my cat – kidding.)

photo.JPG

Drool, do it.

Anyways, without further adieu.. my spin-off  recipe:

Lemon mushroom cream risotto

What you need:

  • 1 lemon
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • dash of sage
  • fresh basil and fresh parley/or dill
  •  pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour
  • 1 cup arbiro rice
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • shrimp (optional)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 cups hot water
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • diced mushrooms (amount, your preference)
  • 1/2 head chopped brocolli (optional)

Heat vegetables stock on medium in pan

In seperate wok, heat olive oil and cook shallots and garlic for two minutes; stir in basil.

Add arbiro rice and stir consistently. After a few minutes add wine.

photo-18

Stir until completely absorbed. You HAVE to make that face when pouring the wine, fyi.

Slowly  pour in vegetable stock with those scoopy doodad spoon thingies and stir into rice stirring consistently.

photo-17

Squeeze in a couple of slices of lemons into wok and mix

In another pan, heat butter and toss in 1 clove of minced garlic. Slowly stir in milk and set heat level at low-medium.

Slowly stir in gluten free powder. Keep stirring carefully so the mixture produces a creamy texture. If texture is too thick, add milk sparingly. I know this all too well.. don’t listen to your inner doubtful moron… DON’T ADD MORE FLOUR!!!!

Keep stirirng until it stops looking like that:

photo-14

Squeeze in a slice of lemon and add a pinch of salt.

Add a cup of hot water into rice. Repeat this process until the rice is al dente. Use more water if needed.

Throw in a dash of sage in the creamy brothe; treat yourself.

Next, add mushrooms into brothe. Don’t forget to check on the rice!

Make sure mushrooms cook nicely; it shouldn’t take more than a few minutes for them to shrink and soften.

When you feel it’s right (which is now).. pour creamy brothe into rice and mix.

Add brocolli and/or shrimp if  you’re using it and then mix in fresh parsley or dill. Add a couple of slices of lemon (squeeze in first) and mix all the loveliness together.

Guess what… it’s done!!!

photo-16

Mine turned out a touch more creamier which isn’t necessary for this recipe.. it was my delicious mishap.

Add some crushed chilli pepper or shredded cheese if you’d like.

Let me know what you think, if you have any suggestions or if you think this is the worst idea since Dr. Sholl’s fast flats … do you know they have no insoles!?!?!

Anyways, I’m getting sleepy because I’m full of food (first world problems..wait, that’s not a problem) and Chelsea Lately  is on. She’s my homegirl.

Peace in ❤

photo-5

Aww Jack attack, how’d you get in there, bud??

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

One response to “What for dinner? Gluten-free Lemon Mushroom Cream Risotto.. you know, the ushe.

  1. sudha

    So inspiring – it really gets me so energetic all over again….

Leave a Reply

