Eggs in a Nest and a Chocolate Smoothie for Breakfast

Sourdough loaves

Sourdough loaves (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in products such as soy milk and low-fat yogurt, has been shown to reduce breast cancer incidence in rats. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good evening foodies,

Happy Easter weekend! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend with family and friends. I just came home from my boyfriend’s families house and per usual I am STUFFED with food. My drive home consuming chocolate mini eggs wasn’t all that helpful but I had to stay awake on my post-food fatigue for the long trip!

I am happily sipping on a cup of camomile trying to let it all digest as I’m writing this. This post is MUCH less extravagant than the others because in all honestly – I cannot even think about food right now. I am that full. I am a small girl with big, BIG eyes for food.

Anyways, I don’t know if you guys are familiar with the eggs in a nest concept – when you poke a hole in a piece of bread and fry it on a pan with the egg cooking inside the hole. So simple, so awesome. I made it for the first time yesterday morning and I can’t believe I never did that before given the commonality of it. It was like a sweet, gooey french toast. Can’t go wrong there!

photo-38  photo-41

Top it with some cinnamon, and you’re good to go, simple!

This bread I’m using is whole grain sour dough bread which is began but of course not gluten-free, but this recipe can easily accommodate gluten-free bread.

On to the more exciting aspect of this breakfast – the smoothie!

photo-6

Can you guess what is in this?

It is so delicious and healthier than most chocolate smoothies

 

  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 pitted dates
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • ice cubes
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed
  • 1 tbsp protein (if using)
  • 1/2 cup of yogurt (if not vegan)

 

This has been my favourite all-natural pick-me-up. Blend, and enjoy!

Sweet dreams, blog ya tomorrow!

peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

