Vegan Day 1: Sweet Mango Sesame Vermicelli

Yes, you read it right. Vegan.

I am going vegan 6 of 7 days of the week. Why?

Well, it’s the summer and I’m going on vacation in July to the sunny beaches of some all inclusive down south.. I work out like crazy but every time I eat it’s like I’ve never seen food before… besides.. this gives me an even more creative kick for this blog.

For whoever is reading and instantly became wildly uninterested – don’t worry I’m going to make these recipes as awesome as possible; you CAN eat healthy without sacrificing taste – FACT. I’m currently eating a vegan and gluten-free cookie courtesy of my aunt and they’re effing DELICIOUS.

 img_quinoa-cookies-chocolate-chips

yum!

So, my first recipe is made with sweet potato squash vermicelli. I LOVE vermicelli and this one in particular is also gluten-free.

I won’t lie to you. I WINGED this.

I got home late last night and I wasn’t about to look up some intricate recipe and wholeheartedly slave to make it amazing. I can do that all on my own ;).

So my very own recipe that I call Sweet Mango Vermicelli

photo-51

What you need:

  • Package Vermicelli (however much you’d like)
  • 1 bunch chinese broccoli – ends cut
  • 1 large carrot – in shaves or thinly cut slices
  • 1 green bell pepper (or any you’d like
  • 1 mango, diced
  • cubed firm tofu (optional)
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 2 tbsp sesame seed oil
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar/ or sweet chilli sauce (i used red wine vinegar because I’m watching sugars.. it does the trick with the combination of mango)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 dried chilli or 1 tsp crushed chillis

photo-49 photo-48 photo-47photo-45

And for whoever is not digging this vegan thing… go ahead… throw some chicken in there.. some shrimp.. treat yourself.

Let’s get started!

Boil hot water and cook vermicelli for 10 minutes. When finished; drain and cool off with cold water. Let dry.

Fry onions and garlic with 1 tbsp olive oil. Cook for 3 minutes then add tomatoes and tofu to follow. Cook for another 2 minutes then add carrots and peppers.

Add sesame seed oil and stir. Add chinese broccoli right after (it doesn’t require much time to cook)

photo-50

After a few minutes add whatever sauce you’re using, red wine vinegar or chilli and stir. You can now throw in vermicelli but don’t cook for too long.

Add mango pieces and let it simmer for a minute or two.

Throw in whatever finishing touches (chilli, seasonings, i.e basil) and mix in.

The last thing to do is enjoy and tell me what you think 🙂

Peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

