“Just A Stir Fry”

It is NOT just a stir fry. It is the best stir fry, ever. TOTALLY blog worthy.

photo-51

I don’t photograph well, I’ve accepted that.

Anyways, I’m not allowed to tell the story behind the title but eff it, it’s my blog. It’s Cookiing Monster by Nidhi Arya not Dutch Diaries by Matty J.

Since I came up with the idea of creating this blog my boyfriend has been so supportive of it. He even sends me texts telling me how he loves my dorky humour, and tells me he’s proud of me. We both cooked a stir fry today and he was enthusiastically taking pictures with my iphone and little did he even realize how full my heart was knowing how much of an interest he’s taken in my silliness.

I thanked him by putting my foot in my mouth when he suggested I blog our dinner.

“Naw, it’s just a stir fry.” I said.

Immediately I wanted to take the words back because I sounded like such a douche bag. He teased me by making me feel so bad about it – he would never be genuinely affected by the ‘whatever’ response but he is definitely not letting me live it down.

Baby, it’s not just a stir fry. You have the best ideas for stir fry and it is beyond blog worthy. I have less than 10 followers… yourstir fry surpasses that by at least 3 views.. kidding, like 300 views!

photo-45

You want a kick ass gluten-free/vegan (what a nightmare) stir fry Nidhi/Matt style?

See below and have-at-her!

What you need

  • 1 cup brown rice (or basmati or wild, your preference)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (for tofu)
  • Additional 2 tablespoons of olive oil (for veggies)
  • 1 tsp sesame seed oil (for rice)
  •  1 cup diced pineapple
  • 1 package spinach
  • 2 bell peppers (any colour you’d like.. racist)
  • 1 brick of soft tofu (firm is fine too), diced
  • 1 can of mixed beans
  • 1 zuccini (we used cucumber, which was good too)
  • 1 package snow peas
  • whatever other veggies you can stuff in there
  • Your favourite asian sauce
  • Some frank’s red hot.. we put that sh** on everything.
  • 1/2 cup of chopped peanuts (optional)

If you want to add meat or seafood, go for it.

Cook rice (takes about 50 minutes to cook). Once finished, stir in sesame seed oil.

Carefully chop tofu into larger-ish (ok, medium) cubes and fry in a deep dish pan with 1/2 cup of hot olive oil. Fry until outside is crispy – the inside should remain soft. It’s a delicious combination. If you’re too cool for vegan, crack open an egg, mix the white and yolk together as if it’s an omelet and dip each tofu cube in the mixture before frying. Cripsy deliciousness. I mean, you’re a monster.

photo-48

In the mean while heat olive oil in a wok and toss in bell peppers, zuccini, beans and  snow peas. Have that going for 5 – 10 minutes then slowly add the rest of the other ingredients one by one (except for pinapple and peanuts)

photo-49photo-50photo-55

Before adding tofu, lay pieces on a paper towel to absorb the oil then throw them in the stir fry.

photo-52

Stir in whatever sauce you’re using and then stir in pineapple and peanuts

Serve with rice (or stir it in as well.. it is a stir fry… *hyuck hyuck*)

photo-54photo-44

I hope you love it with the pineapple. I wasn’t crazy about it at first with the hawaiian pizza’s and all – mixing salt with sweet but Matt got me on the pineapple train. It’s the one of the awesome ingredient that makes it not just a stir fry 😉 Aww!

photo-43

photo-46

And don’t forget to clean up, what are we, barbarians!?!?

Peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

