Cheat Day Vegan Style: Chewy Quinoa Cookies

photo-57

This is hardly cheat food at all but it’s so delicious it feels like you’re cheating!

I am completely fascinated with the idea of baking sweets with quinoa. I can’t get enough of it and yesterday I made amazing cookies made from all natural ingredients: vegan and gluten-free

It was so simple to make and here is what you need:

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • *1/4 cup homemade date syrup (or maple/agave syrup) with a pinch of stevia and a little vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (add punch of salt – I didn’t use it and I didn’t miss it.. low sodium for the win!)
  • 1/4 unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips (or non-vegan, whatevs)
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder (i used without and turned out delish anyway)

PH oven to 320*F

Boil 1/4 cup of quinoa to produce 1 cup of cooked quinoa.

*If you’re curious about how to make date syrup I will tell you how. It’s extremely simple. Dates are awesome!

All you have to do is boil 1 1/2 cups of water and soak 1 heaping cup of dates in a bowl overnight. Next morning: de-pit and put in a blender or food processor along with a little bit of vanilla extract. Throw in a pinch of stevia (organic sweetener). Blend and it’s good to go! Refrigerate what you’re not using – shelf life is about 2 weeks.

Moving forward….

Combine date syrup and peanut butter in a bowl

photo-69

Can I just eat the bowl of peanut butter instead?

photo-68

Mix it all up until it’s fluffy

photo-67

Combine with quinoa and remaining ingredients

photo-66

Make sure you get all of it….

photo-63

That’s better…

photo-61

Scoop mix into tablespoon-sized dollops and lay out on baking sheet. Don’t grease.

Warning… you’re going to want to eat the batter.

Bake for 10 minutes. These cookies are meant to be soft. You can even bake for 20 minutes and they will be soft since it’s made out of quinoa and peanut butter. You’ll get the crispiness on the outside and chewy amazingness on the outside.

photo-75

Jack hung out with me the entire time. He got tuckered.

I made a pretty large batch so I was making handouts. I gave some to one of my devoted vegan friends while she was at work and loved them. I love seeing people’s reactions when I’m successful with making things. I gave a batch to Matt’s mom to bake as well. Food is love, for sure! Another batch I froze to use as cookie dough for ice cream.

photo-43

But I will save that post for tomorrow 😉

Goodnight!

Peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

2 responses to “Cheat Day Vegan Style: Chewy Quinoa Cookies

  1. Sonia

    Trying the date syrup this morning. Going to use it in my green smoothies, when they need some sweetening. Did try the quinoa cookies last night, without the peanut butter, date syrup and chocolate chips – added a bit of sugar instead and the turned out to be a nice quick snack, homemade – a bit like a macaroon. Thanks for the idea!

    • That’s the best part about these simple recipes… you can always adjust the ingredients however you’d like. That sounds like a great substitute because the peanut butter often gets heavy.. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

