Day 3/15: Sundried Tomato and Cheddar Corn Cake

Good evening lovelies!

This evenings recipe was a bit of a risk-taker…

I got the idea from one of my new favourite websites by the Gluten-Free Vegan:

http://www.theglutenfreevegan.com/2013/03/jalapeno-cheddar-corn-muffins-vegan-gluten-free/

The original recipe was corn muffins with cheddar and jalapeno but I decided to switch it up with sundried tomato and cheddar. Also, I lacked the resources for muffin-making so this was a CAKE!

I won’t lie to you… I was internally freaking out over this recipe because I’ve always been a little unsure corn-based baked goods… that is GLUTEN-FREE..and VEGAN.. and mixes SPICE with SWEET… I don’t really know what I was thinking. When I see weird things I feel like I need to pursue them. Basically how Matt and I got together.. *zing!*

Guess what? It turned out surprisingly well!

Is there a trend as to how much I say that? Can this now be officially a drinking game?

Drink to how many times Nidhi says “It turned out surprisingly well!”

1/3 through my last posts and you’re HAMMERED.

What is my life about….

So without further adieu.. my spin off recipe that is effing SURPRISINGLY delicious *drink*..  here’s what you need!

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour blend or 1 cup regular flour (conversion ratio is 1:1)
  • ⅔ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 slivers chopped sundried tomoto
  • Vegan or real cheddar
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond or soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup pureed pumpkin
  • ⅓ cup grapeseed oil
  • crushed pepper flakes (optional)

PH oven to 400*F

In a bowl, mix together all dry ingredients. Add sundried tomato last and make sure each slice is coated nicely.

In another small bowl, add milk and apple cider vinegar – let sit for five minutes.

In another bowl (yes, another), combine pumpkin puree and grapeseed oil then add milk mixture. Blend well.

Add wet and dry ingredients and whisk thoroughly. Scrape edges to ensure no flour/powders are lingering – don’t want a surprise mouthful of flour in your bite. yuck!

Fold in cheese shreds.

If using a muffin tray, grease and divide batter evenly into each socket (I don’t know what else to call it)

If using a regular pan, make sure it’s at least 2″ deep… grease and pour in mixture.

photo-49

Bake for 20-22 minutes. If you’re using a pan, bake an extra 5 minutes.

Serve warm.

photo-50

Yummmm.

I don’t have many pictures.. My iPhone doesn’t do much justice. Tomorrow’s will only have one pic but I promise to be more creative with the pictures from Day 5 and on.

Have a good night!

Peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

2 responses to “Day 3/15: Sundried Tomato and Cheddar Corn Cake

  1. Love the idea of a drinking game. That sounds right up my alley. Thanks for the shoutout to my blog, glad you’re enjoying it. Love love love the sundried tomato swap out. I just may have to borrow that one from you. 🙂

    • Omg I wasn’t expecting for you to see this – but I’m so happy you did! I write my posts pretty late (always brush it up the next morning) so despite the “roughness” of my writing style I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love your website, thanks for writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

