Day 5: Mexican Style Tofu

Well my “one recipe a day” rule didn’t last for very long!

Not only have I been busy with work and training; I’ve just been excessively tired last week and anything I made didn’t feel blog worthy.

This one seems very simple and hardly blog worthy either but it’s so versitile and can be used in many different ways.

It’s “ground” mexican meatless. I couldn’t find protein at the grocery store which was odd so I bought tofu. Looking back, I should have brough home firm tofu so I could have achieved the texture I wanted but it’s a learning experience :). I also would have made the tofu chunks smaller but it was 9 at night – I’m not a machine!!!!

Anyways, for this recipe I used:

  • 1/2 bar tofu – shredded of finely cut into tiny squares
  • 1 tsp all-puspose/mexican seasoning
  • 1/4 cup marinara sauce (spicy)
  • 2 tsp frank’s red hot
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup red onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped bepper (bell pepper.. heheh)
  • 1/4 cup green onion
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil (any oil may be used.. i just felt  fancy…)

Start by fying the tofu and garlic in seasoning in a saucepan in oil, cook for 10 minutes on medium-high (add onions 5 minutes in)

Slowly add all other raw ingredients and cook for another 10 minutes, add beans last.

Add marinara and Frank’s sauce and after  2 minutes – finit!

photo-61

It’s so simple and you can put it over kale, turning it into a taco salad, sprinkle some cheese on top. Or you can put it in an actual taco… which is awesome too.

I put it over brown rice and it tasted like mexican style rice with tofu. It was delicious and filled me up unlike the other meals I’ve been making.  I’m getting the hang of being a vegan so i’m getting better at finding meals that are as natural as possible and filling for the tummy and the soul. I’m really feeling the emotional differences of this diet. It makes you feel happier and grounded :).

Anyways… I’ve just finished baking an apple/cranberry granola base that I will post about if not tonight; tomorrow. Half of it is reserved as a granola bar, the other half is a surprise 😉

Till the next bloggity…

peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

