Day 7/15: Nut-Free Chocolate Granola

photo-73

These were GOOD! Is it okay to blow my own horn? Giggity.

My cousin has a severe nut allergy and I’ve using nuts in virtually EVERYTHING in this blog so I have dedicated this specific recipe for him because he’s the best… and if he doesn’t read it… he’s alright, no the best but alright.

I won’t lie to you.. I planned this recipe out well in my head but it kinda snowballed in the practical part of it. I wanted to use so many different things and had different ideas. I wanted to achieve a crumbly-sort of crust that is binded with rice crispies (got the idea from Sue. She made awesome ice cream pie made of rice crispies.. delicious). 

This wasn’t well planned out and I thought for once I don’t want to type “how to make..” in google and just figure it out all on my own. This was pretty much my entire evening which is why the post didn’t go up last night. I’ll put up another tonight – I’ve cooked plenty of material for the next couple of posts :D.

Anyways what it all came down to was chucking ingredients in a food processor then SH-BAM!!!!! (I want you to hear Lori from Cougar Town.. if you haven’t heard of Cougar Town GET YOUR LIFE TOGETHER AND YOUTUBE IT THEN PROCEED TO THANK ME FOR CHANGING YOUR LIFE AND I WILL ACCEPT YOUR THANKS BY LETTING YOU BAKE ME COOKIES MADE OF SMARTIES BECAUSE THAT’S WHAT WATCHING COUGAR TOWN FEELS LIKE…. EATING COOKIES WITH SMARTIES IN THEM :D)

Now that the inevitable awkward tangent is out of the way… let’s me some vegan, nut/gluten-free granola treats.

YES it’ll be good… *magic word* SURPRISINGLY… take a shot!

What you need:

Icing

  • 1 avocado
  • 3/4 melted chocolate
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 pkg stevia (optional)
  • 1 tbsp flaxseeds (if this is an allergen, obviously avoid it.. it’s not an essential ingredient)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

Blend all ingredients and set aside in the refridgerator

Granola/Crust

  • 3/4 cups rice crispies
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 chia seeds (if you have)
  • 1 cup date syrup (1 cup dates in hot water over night… blend with a pinch of vanilla extract and your good to go)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

1. Blend ALL dry ingredients (except for chocolate chips) and blend in a food processor with date syrup.

          An option that I didn’t think of trying was binding all ingredients except for chocolate chips and rice crispies and then add those after. It doesn’t matter.. it’s good regardless 🙂

2. Add chocolate chips and flatten dough mixure into pan.

photo-74

You can either spread icing on top and enjoy a raw treat, or bake the entire tray(I did half an half) and bake into granola bars. You can do anything you want :).

photo-75

I personally enjoyed the raw dough the most.

If you’re not crazy about the avocado mixture, buy some Betty Crocker and call it a day 😉

Try it out and let me know how it goes 😀

Blog ya tonight!

 

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

