Day 8/15: Sundried Tomato Avocado Spring Rolls

Hello, hello!

Before I start… is it just me or does word press ALWAYS mess up the formatting in the publishing process… everything is everywhere and spaced out strangely once I see the final product and I’m all like “BAH!!!”

Moving on…..

As I write this I wish I had an entire plate of these.. these were SO good.

I got the idea from Om Girl’s Guide:

http://omgirlsguide.com/2013/04/21/collard-wraps-with-sun-dried-tomato-pate/

I love her posts so I thought I’d try it myself in a way that’s slightly different as I lacked some materials. I was also craving sushi so I figured, why not turn into a hand roll? Behold:

photo-79

I’m trying to eat the screen…

Anyways, you can find her version (which is probably better) at the link provided, or if you’d like to try mine which isn’t so bad ;), follow directions below.

What you need:

Sundried tomato pate ingredients..

  • 1/3 cup hummus (I made mine from scratch – chick peas + olive oil + garlic clove + boiled crushed peppers + dry basil = delicious, easy peasy hummus)
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomato
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes (follow package instructions to make sure they are blanched before used.. all you have to do is boil them in water for 2 minutes)

– – – – – – – –

  • 1 avocado
  • boston lettuce
  • vegannaise/mayo
  • wasabi powder
  • any other fillings you’d like
  • 1 cup brown rice

To make the pate start by blending all pate ingredients in a food processor. Try and smooth out any chunks as best as you can. Set aside in a bowl.

photo-69

The vegannaise is so excited!!

Lay out lettuce leaves one at a time (whatever size leaf you’d prefer) and spread mayo over leaf; sprinkle wasabi powder over.

Next, you will lay out rice over top and flatten nicely. After that you may add the pate and then stick a couple of slivers of avocado in the centre. And just ‘Roll it, roll it, roll, roll it, WHAT!?’ 

photo-71

Make sure it’s nicely ‘swaddled’ so it doesn’t fall apart.

Repeat this process with how many ever you desire and refrigerate. You can eat it fresh – you’ll be tempted – but allowing it to cool will help bind the ingredients so that it doesn’t fall apart.

Bon a pâtit and let me know what you think!

photo-81

Jack Attack was hanging onto my leg for the entire time I was making these rolls.

Peace in ❤

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

2 responses to “Day 8/15: Sundried Tomato Avocado Spring Rolls

  1. I’m so glad I inspired you! That definitely put a smile on my face :). I actually just made collard wraps again today but used pumpkin seeds 🙂

Leave a Reply

