Day 10/15: Saturday Cheat Day

I have been absent.. yes.. but I am back! Longest.. 15 day challenge.. ever.

Having openly admitted that I am proud to present another of my very own creations. As you know, I give myself one day a week to treat myself with the lesser healthy things.. this is actually a lighter version of my cheat day.. only because I used real butter.. but everything else is gluten safe and super easy to make as a vegan treat. To be quite honest, eating all natural sans animal by-products have improved my moods and energy impeccably. I’m so happy I’ve taken a chance on this sort of lifestyle… 6 days may turn into all 7 days of the week very soon.

Coming up with a name for this was a bit tricky and as I brainstormed I thought of: Almond butter delight… Pumpkin Nut Cake… Chocopump, pump pump it up .. okay that was weak sauce. No I’m not on drugs but I am tired as eff. Although you’d think with the amount of food I’m making that I’m a huge pothead.. quite the contrary.. my body is a temple ;).

The reason why I’m so tired this Sunday night is because I visited my bestie in Port Hope and slept over. When I don’t sleep in my own bed I don’t get good sleeps.. which makes Nidhi super cranky… and she rants talking in third person.

Having said all that I was so excited to see her that I made this for her. So I finally decided to name it *drum roll*

Best Friend Cake

Just because a lot of heart was put into it 🙂

photo-89

I made this ALL on a whim. As per usual.. it was unplanned but I decided to use no online references.. I made this blindly… and surprisingly… it was deeelicous *take a shot*

Try it out.. so easy!

Logistics….

Crust:

  • 3/4 cup ground almonds
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp egg replacer + 4 tsp water (= two whole eggs)
  • 1/4 melted cup butter/vegan butter
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon powder

Icing:

  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup melted unsweetened dark chocolate
  • 1/3 cup date puree
  • 4 packets stevia (or 1 tbsp sugar)
  • 1/2 natural almond or peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

PH oven to 375*F

In a bowl, bind all crust ingredients together starting with dry mixes (almond powder and brown sugar) adding melted butter last.

photo-82photo-83

Put into dutch oven or lightly greased pan and bake for 10-15 minutes

photo-84

In a bowl, mix all icing ingredients together leaving almond butter for last. Whip until mix is smooth. Taste to make sure it is not too bitter.. it took a bit to figure out the measurements as the pumpkin made it a bit tricky – but SO worth it.

Once the crust is finished baking, let cool for an hour and refrigerate icing. During this hour I suggest watching an episode of Big Rich Atlanta.

photo-85

When the crust is cooled and you’re done vomiting over Queen Bitch Ashley’s birthday drama (because you were laughing too hard, of course), spread over icing and make sure it sits at least 1″ thick on top.

SO easy.. we ate half of the cake last night.. I always love seeing people enjoy the food I come up with.

photo-88

Enjoy!

Goodnight – peace in ❤

photo-87

My stage 2 clinger kitty keeping me company again.. d’aww my kitty bear

About nidhiiarya

I love cookies.

Leave a Reply

